[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

British Athletics Writers Association Awards 2006

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Rebecca Lyne & Mo Farah
Rebecca Lyne & Mo Farah

The British Athletics Writer Association Annual Awards Dinner sponsored by Norwich Union took place at the Royal Lancaster Hotel on Saturday 14 October, attracting some of the sport’s biggest names.


17 year old Sian Edwards (Kettering Town Harriers) took the Junior Female Athlete of the Year Award, following a great year that included a fantastic tenth place at the World Cross Country Championships in Fukuoka, Japan and sixth place in the 5,000m at the World Junior Championships in Beijing.


Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Sutton & District) won the Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award for the second successive year, after taking Gold over 100m at the World Junior Championships in China.


The Ron Pickering Memorial Award for Services to Athletics went to UK Athletics Chief Executive David Moorcroft, marking a wonderful thirty years in athletics. The award was presented by Shaun and Jean Pickering.


Wheelchair racer David Weir took the honours for best performance in a British vest to round off a sensational year that included not just two world records in the T54 200m and 400m but three Gold medals over 100m, 400m and 1500m at the IPC World Championships in Assen, Holland.


Dame Kelly Holmes presented the Female Athlete of the Year Award to Becky Lyne (Hallamshire Harriers), who more than made up for the disappointment of missing the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne by taking Bronze in the 800m at the European Championships in Gothenburg after a series of fine performances that moved her into world class.


Dave Bedford presented the Male Athlete of the Year Award to Mo Farah (Newham & Essex Beagles) to mark a breakthrough season for Farah, which culminated in a sprint finish in the 5,000m final at the European Championships in Gothenburg for Silver.