[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Time to nominate top coaches for awards

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Sports Coach UK

The National Coaching Foundation is seeking nominations for its annual awards. And UK Athletics is anxious to make sure that the most successful athletics coaches are recognised!


There are a number of ways in which athletes, clubs and any other interested parties can make nominations in any of the six categories – Community Sports Coach of the Year, UK Young Coach of the Year, UK Male Coach of the Year, UK Female Coach of the Year, the Mussabini Medal named in memory of the man who coached 11 Olympic track and field medallists and was made famous in The Chariots of Fire film, and the Dyson Award named after Britain's chief national coach for track and field (1947-1961) and given to individuals who have made a sustained and significant contribution to the development of coaching and individual coaches in the United Kingdom.


Callum Orr, UKA’s Head of Coaching and Teaching, said: “There are countless great coaches in our sport – virtually everyone involved in athletics knows one or more. Please take a few minutes to think about who you could nominate and then take the initial step to make sure they are recognised.”

Nominations can be made via the Sports Coach UK website.

Surprisingly, no athletics coaches figured among the 2005 winners, who were…


Mussabini Medals: Troy Cooley, England cricket’s fast bowling coach; Yogi Breisner, British Eventing Team Performance Manager; Kenneth Clawson, British Eventing Team Show Jumping Coach; Tracie Robinson, British Eventing Team Dressage Coach; Mike Ruddock, Wales Rugby Union national team coach; Ron Needs, Amateur Rowing Association Coach; and Christine Still, Director of Coaching for Scottish Gymnastics.


Dyson Awards: Bobbie Trafford, Coach Developer; Penny Crisfield, Coach Educator; Gordon Lord, Coach Educator, Cricket.


UK Female Coach of the Year: Colette Thomson, England Netball Under 21 Squad Coach.


UK Male Coach of the Year: Duncan Fletcher, England Cricket Coach.


UK Young Coach of the Year: Rachael Wooldridge, Amateur Rowing Association Coach.


Community Sports Coach of the Year: Humphrey Long, Basketball.


Lifetime Achievement Award: Sir Bobby Robson, Football.


If you have any questions / comments about the nomination process, please contact corr@ukathletics.org.uk