[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

World Class Podium and Development athletes announced by UK Athletics

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Libby Clegg
UK Athletics has today confirmed the 47 athletes who will receive lottery support on the World Class Podium and Development programmes for disability athletes.


A total of 23 athletes will benefit from the highest tier of support provided by the World Class Podium programme, and 24 take their places on the World Class Development plan.


With no major championships for disability athletes next year, the World IPC championships at Assen took on special meaning for the athletes who were performing not only for themselves, but also to secure competitive places at the Beijing Paralympic Games in 2008.


Tim Jones, UK Athletics Senior Performance Manager for disability said:


“It has been an encouraging year with several of our exciting young new talents bursting onto the world stage. The 27 medals we amassed at the World Championships in Assen was an excellent result from our last major competition before the Beijing Paralympics, and a reflection of the progress that we are now starting to make.


“To see teenagers like Libby and Ben coming through, David Weir having the season of his life, and the enthusiasm shown by the athletes towards our relay programme means I am confident that the support we are able to provide is being focussed correctly with Paralympic medals as the ultimate aim.


“2007 will be a particularly important training year where athletes will be able to make some significant strides forwards. By investing now in this group of 47 athletes, we believe we will be able to provide a real platform for success in Beijing and then London.


Podium Athletes


Elizabeth ‘Libby’ Clegg and Ben Rushgrove step up to Podium following excellent performances this year at the IPC World Championships in Assen. At the age of 16, Clegg is currently the youngest athlete to be funded by the World Class podium plan from either able-bodied or disability athletics, and the support is timely recognition following her silver medal over the T12 200m.


Rushgrove won Bronze in Assen over the T36 200m and was a prospective medallist in the 100m when he was unfortunate to be disqualified in the final after setting a new European Record in the early rounds.



Kenneth Churchill, 31, F37 Javelin

Danny Crates, 33T46 800m

David Gale, 38, F51 Discus

Daniel Greaves, 24, F44 Discus

Tanni Grey-Thompson, 37, T53 800m

Beverley Jones, 32, F37 Shot

Stephen Miller, 26, F32 Club

David Weir, 27, T54, 400m

Graeme Ballard, 27, T36 100m

Elizabeth Clegg, 16, T12 100m

Tracey Hinton, 36, T11 (T12) 800m

John McFall, 25, T42 100m

Kim Minett, 28, F40, Shot

Ben Rushgrove 18, T36 100m

Daniel West, 29, F34 Shot

Rochelle (Shelly) Woods, 20, T54 Marathon

Stephen Payton, 29, T38 400m

Hazel Simpson, 27, T36 200m

Michael Churm, 25, T37 100m

Sophie Hancock, 20, F40 Shot

Nathan Stephens, 18, F57 Shot

Lloyd Upsdell, 23, T35 100m

Claire Williams, 19, T12 Discus


Development Athletes


Seven athletes are promoted to World Class development funding including talented 17 year old T44 athlete Ian Jones who has literally burst onto the scene this year, taking 4th place over the 100m in his first major championship. Other athletes new on Development are: Robin Womack (F55 Shot), Dean Miller (T37 800m), Thomas Green (T32 Club), Jamie Harding (T37 Relay), Stephen Herbert (T37 Relay) and Karl Nicholson (T54 Relay).



Katherine Deal, 15, T13 400m

Katrina Hart, 16, T37 100m

Ian Jones, 17, T44 100m

Anne Wafula-Strike, 37, T54 100m

Richard Schabel, 48, F51 Discus

Robin Womack, 35, F55 Shot

Brian Alldis, 20, T54 1500m

Michael Bushell, 16, T53 100m

Matthew Cliff, 20, T12 400m

Martin Crutchley, 23, F38 Shot

Neil Fachie, 22, T13 100m

Lee Hunter, 20, T36 400m

Dean Miller, 17, T37 800m

Bernard Doolan , 24, F32 Shot

Thomas Green, 15, T32 Club

Jamie Harding, 16, T37 Relay

Stephen Herbert, 31, T37 Relay

Steven Leigh, 19, T38 400m

Kieron Murphy, 20, F32 Club

Karl Nicholson, 32, T54 Relay

Tushar Patel, 28, T54 Relay

Noel Thatcher, 40, T12 Marathon

Andrew Williams, 25, F32 Shot

Thomas Wilson, 19, T36 100m