[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Wheelchair sports awards for Weir, Woods and Womack

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Shelly Woods
Shelly Woods

Following a weekend where the outstanding efforts of UK track and field clubs were paid tribute to at the UK Athletics Club Awards, David Weir, Shelly Woods and Robin Womack were among the major award winners at the weekend’s British Wheelchair Sports Awards.
Weir shared the Award for Outstanding Individual Male Achievement with wheelchair tennis player Peter Norfolk.
It caps a terrific year for 27-year-old Weir, who also recently collected the British Athletics Writers Award for Best Performance in a British Vest.
In 2006 Weir won gold medals in the T54 100m, 400m and 1500m, as well as a silver in the T54 200m, at the International Paralympic Committee Athletics World Championships in Assen, the Netherlands.
He also won the wheelchair race at the 2006 London Marathon and collected three titles at the Visa Paralympic World Cup.
Blackpool athlete Shelly Woods won the Award for Outstanding Individual Female Achievement.
In a long season, the 20-year-old finished seventh over 800m at the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games, came second in the London Marathon and won a bronze medal in a gruelling T54 marathon at the Assen 2006 World Championships.
She followed that up by finished second in the Great North Run and rounded off her season as runner-up by just two seconds to the USA’s Amanda McGrory in the New York Marathon.
Essex athlete Robin Womack received the Best Newcomer award. Robin continued to make progress in 2006, finishing fifth in the F55 shot at the IPC Athletics World Championships, his first major international event.
BBC Sport were presented with the Media Coverage Award for their coverage of disability sport, which included the IPC Athletics World Championships. The individual media award went to BBC broadcaster Paul Dickenson.
The British Wheelchair Sports Awards are organised and hosted by Wheelpower, the national organisation and charity for British wheelchair sport. You can find out more at the Wheelpower website.