[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

Norwich Union GB team for Jumps International

Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Rob Mitchell
Rob Mitchell

UK Athletics has named a strong Norwich Union Great Britain and Northern Ireland team to face the Netherlands in a unique jumps international at the Lee Valley Athletics Centre, London, on Wednesday 21 February (4pm).


The new-style international organised by the UKA Competitions Department brings together seniors, under-23s, juniors and under-18s at the start of a year in which all four have major outdoor targets – the IAAF World Championships in Osaka,Japan; European Under 23 Championships in Debrecen, Hungary; European Junior Championships in Hengelo, Netherlands; IAAF World Youth Championships in Ostrava, Czech Republic; and European Youth Olympic Festival in Belgrade, Serbia.


And for some Seniors, the match represents the last time to impress the selectors before they finalise the Norwich Union GB team for the SPAR European Indoor Championships in Birmingham on 2-4 March.


To further cheer the Seniors, a new sponsorship deal means that all winners old enough to drink alcohol will be able to celebrate with champagne. Heidsieck & Co Monopole is delighted to be teaming up with UK Athletics through to 2009 as the ‘Official and Exclusive Champagne Supplier to UK Athletics and the Norwich Union Great Britain and Northern Ireland team’. The national governing body says the marque will be an important partner in helping to celebrate success in all aspects of the athletics arena, and this association joins two brands – UK Athletics and Heidsieck & Co Monopole – who are both devoted to excellence and prestige in their field.


The Norwich Union GB team is:


Senior men: high jump, Rob Mitchell (Sale Harriers Manchester); pole vault, Scott Simpson (Birchfield Harriers); long jump, Leigh Smith (Birchfield Harriers); triple jump, Julian Golley (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow AC).


Under-23 men: high jump, Adam Scarr (Enfield and Haringey); pole vault, Steve Lewis (Newham and Essex Beagles); long jump, Bernard Yeboah (Belgrave Harriers); triple jump, Gary White (Rugby and Northampton).


Under 20 men: high jump, Alan McKie (Windsor, Slough, Eton and Hounslow AC); pole vault, Max Eaves (Blackpool and Fylde AC); long jump, Andrew Jones (Shrewsbury AC); triple jump, Trevor Okoroafor (Croydon Harriers).


Under 18 men: high jump, Chris Baker (City of Norwich AC); pole vault, Andy Marsh (City of Stoke AC); long jump, Stuart Hitchcock (Medway and Maidstone AC); triple jump, Nathan Fox (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers).


Senior women: high jump, Susan Moncrieff (Trafford AC); pole vault, Kate Dennison (Sale Harriers Manchester); long jump, Gillian Cooke (Edinburgh Southern Harriers); triple jump, Ashia Hansen (Birchfield Harriers).


Under 23 women: high jump, Stephanie Pywell (Sale Harriers Manchester); pole vault, Emma Lyons (Notts AC); long jump, Amy Harris (Birchfield Harriers); triple jump, Denae Matthew (Leicester Coritanian).


Under 20 women: high jump, Vikki Hubbard (Grantham AC); pole vault, Abigail Haywood (Sale Harriers Manchester); long jump, Hannah Frankson (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies); triple jump, Jayne Nisbet (Edinburgh Southern Harriers).


Under 18 women: high jump, Catherine Connelly (Sphinx AC); pole vault, Sally Scott (Gateshead Harriers); long jump, Jade Nimmo (Falkirk Victoria Park Harriers); triple jump, Jade Ellans (Yate and District AC).


Guest competitors will include high jumpers Samson Oni (Belgrave Harriers) and triple jumper Nadia Williams (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers), stars of the recent UK Indoor City Challenge semi-final at Lee Valley.


The meeting will also include an invitational international shot put competition that will enable the UK’s top under-18s, under-20s and under-23s to compete alongside 19 metres-plus stars including American Garrett Johnson, who is currently studying at Oxford University, and Rutger Smith (Netherlands), who was fourth at last summer’s European Championships with a mighty put of 20.90m. Although the shot is not part of the international match, UK throwers who have accepted invitations include Under 18 Michael Wheeler (Herne Hill Harriers), Under 20s Jay Thomas (Kent AC) and Eden Francis (Leicester Coritanian AC), Under 23s Jamie Williamson (City of Sheffield AC) and Chloe Edwards (Huntingdonshire AC). They will be able to compete alongside most of the UK’s top Seniors – Carl Myerscough (Blackpool and Fylde AC), Emeka Udechuku (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies), Kieren Kelly (Team Southampton), Joanne Duncan (Woodford Green with Essex Ladies), Rebecca Peake (Sale Harriers Manchester), Eleanor Gatrell (Woking AC) and Alison Rodger (Victoria Park AAC).