[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics

UK Athletics Awards Night

2 December 2007


The UK Athletics Awards 2007, which recognise the people that help to make athletics a winning sport at all levels, were announced at a glittering dinner on Saturday 1 December at the National Motorcycle Museum in Birmingham.


Over 300 people from all walks of the sport attended the dinner, supported by Heidsieck & Co Monopole Champagne, which was the culmination of a series of Regional and National award presentations across the UK held in partnership with England Athletics, Scottish Athletics, Welsh Athletics and the Northern Ireland Athletics Federation.


Olympic medallist and broadcaster Katharine Merry hosted the evening and following a five-course meal the audience was treated to the humorous anecdotes and stories of former Derbyshire and England cricketer Geoff Miller.


Nick Hyde (Managing Director of Heidsieck & Co Monopole Champagne in the UK) then joined Katharine on stage to say a few words and present magnums of champagne to each of the category winners.


Norma Blaine
Norma Blaine, winner of the Frank Starkie Memorial Award.

The first award was presented by the Secretary of the British Association of Track & Field Leagues (BATFL), Alan Johnson.


This is a new award and is a new memorial award for club officials in honour of the late Frank Starkie. Frank was Chairman of BATFL upon his sudden death and to recognise the contribution that Frank made to the sport it was decided by BATFL to have this award dedicated to his memory. The award is therefore for the person who BATFL feels has given outstanding service in the track and field. Nominations can only be made by clubs who are members of leagues affiliated to BAFTL and nominees must be a member of a track and field club that competes in 'League' athletics.


The winner and first recipient of the Frank Starkie Memorial Award was Norma Blaine.


Olympic medallist Darren Campbell was then invited to present the five UK Athletics Awards.


Katharine read out the three nominees in each category prior to Darren opening the gold envelope to announce the overall winners, which were:


  • Team/Partnership of Year 2007 - South Lanarkshire Athletics Partnership


  • Official of the Year 2007 - Wendy Haxell (South East Region)


  • Volunteer of the Year 2007 - Elaine McCaffery (Northern Ireland)


  • Coach of the Year 2007 - Jared Deacon (North East Region)


  • Club of the Year of the Year 2007 - Herts Phoenix AC


Olympic Gold medallist David Hemery CBE, then presented the British Olympic Association UK Athletics Athlete of the Year Award.


The criteria for this award is ‘to recognise the performance and commitment of an athlete who has proved the embodiment of the Olympic ideal’.


To rapturous applause the winner was announced as European Indoors Gold medallist and World Championship Silver medallist Nicola Sanders.


UK Athletics Chairman Ed Warner presented the two final awards, both special awards to recognise Meritorious Services to the Sport of Athletics.


The first of these two awards went to a man who has served athletics at every level. He is the UK’s acknowledged expert on the technical aspects of competition and as a member of the IAAF Panel of Experts he has acted as an International Technical Official at World Championships at both senior and junior level and as Technical Delegate at a host of Grand Prix meetings. At European level he has acted as Technical Delegate for major championships and Chairman of the Jury of Appeal. He was also a guiding light in ensuring the establishment of the UKA Technical Committee and has been at the forefront of developing the new education programme for Technical Officials.  


Keith Davies
Keith Davies received the Meritorious Services to the Sport of Athletics award

The first special award of the evening for Meritorious Services to the Sport of Athletics was awarded to Keith Davies.


The second award for Meritorious Services to the Sport of Athletics, and the final award of the evening, went to a man who for more than 30 years has made an immense contribution to the sport. His development of Sportshall Athletics into a competitive winter sport has introduced many thousands of young people throughout Britain, and now worldwide, to the fun of athletics.  

Not only has he inspired thousands to run, jump and throw but also he has motivated hundreds of people to pick up a clipboard, stopwatch or tape measure and volunteer. He has since carried on to bring us star:track which in turn has made an indelible mark as the first step into our sport for many thousands of young athletes and offered fresh coaching opportunities to an army of volunteers. Many of the current Great Britain & Northern Ireland team have enjoyed Sportshall Athletics and have since gone on to World Junior, World and Olympic glory. His contribution to their early interest and motivation should not be underplayed.


The second award for Meritorious Services to the Sport of Athletics was awarded to George Bunner.


For further details visit the UK Athletics Awards section.