[Skip to content]

Search our Site
  • Instagram Icon
  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • Facebook Icon
  • YouTube Icon
UK Athletics
In this section


Share this

Share to Twitter Share to Facebook Tell friends via WhatsApp Email us
Mark Lewis-Francis

25 June 2012

UKA have today confirmed the final Aviva Great Britain and Northern Ireland Team selected to compete in Helsinki, Finland at the European Athletics Championships 27 June – 1 July 2012.

The original squad size of 109 athletes has been reduced to 82 following the weekend’s Aviva 2012 Trials. Track athletes who have gained automatic qualification for Team GB and other selected athletes have been de-selected in order to focus on their preparations for the Olympic Games.

Field event athletes have been permitted to compete in Helsinki should the additional competition opportunity benefit their overall build-up.

This year’s European Championships marks the first ever event to take place during an Olympic year, following the decision by European Athletics to take the competition into a biennial cycle from 2012 onwards.

The team will fly out to Helsinki from today onwards to prepare for the championships.


Aviva GB & NI Team squad:


100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Mark Lewis-Francis

200m: Chris Clarke, Danny Talbot

400m: Richard Buck, Luke Lennon Ford

800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Gareth Warburton

1500m: James Brewer, Tom Lancashire

5000m: Mo Farah, Rory Fraser, Mitch Goose

10,000m: Keith Gerrard, James Walsh

3000m SC: Luke Gunn, Rob Mullett, James Wilkinson

110m H: Richard Alleyne, Gianni Frankis, William Sharman

400m H: Rhys Williams, Nathan Woodward, Rick Yates

High Jump: Robbie Grabarz, Samson Oni, Tom Parsons

Pole Vault: Luke Cutts, Max Eaves, Andrew Sutcliffe

Long Jump: JJ Jegede, Julian Reid, Chris Tomlinson

Triple Jump: Larry Achike

Shot Put: Carl Myerscough

Discus Throw: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Lawrence Okoye

Hammer Throw: Mark Dry

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant

4x100m: Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, Tyrone Edgar*, James Ellington, Christian Malcolm, Danny Talbot

4x400m: Buck, Michael Bingham, Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Rob Tobin, Conrad Williams



100m: Jeanette Kwakye*, Ashleigh Nelson,

200m: Abi Oyepitan,

400m: Lee McConnell, Kelly Massey, Nicola Sanders

800m: Jenny Meadows, Lynsey Sharp, Jemma Simpson

1500m: Charlene Thomas

5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Helen Clitheroe, Stephanie Twell*

10,000m: Jo Pavey, Charlotte Purdue, Gemma Steel

3000m SC: Hatti Archer

400m H: Meghan Beesley

High Jump: Isobel Pooley

Pole Vault: Sally Peake

Long Jump: Abigail Irozuru, Shara Proctor*

Shot Put: Eden Francis

Discus Throw: Francis, Jade Nicholls

Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon, Sarah Holt

Javelin Throw: Goldie Sayers, Laura Whittingham

4x100m: Montell Douglas, Hayley Jones, Kwakye, Nelson, Anyika Onuora

4x400m: Eilidh Child, Shana Cox, Massey, McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Sanders

*Participation to be confirmed Tuesday morning